OK so it’s been a while since I’ve posted an entry here. I’ve put us some pictures here and there but not much else. I’ve enjoyed flying a number of kites in my bag and in particular the Nirvana FX, Krystal WW, Krystal FX LW, and the whole Next Up lineup. As always, the Nirvana’s aren’t too far away and never forgotten.   I’ve got a new Diablis and I’m in the process of learning that kite. It is quite the departure for R-Sky so it’s one that will take me a while to get to know.

 

Now to the chase. I’ve fooled around with some video of the Next Up’s but never did anything with the standard. Thanks to poor winds, when I received these kites I didn’t have much chance to fly the standard. But, on a cloudy day back in the late Fall, I did get out to play and shot a little video.  I tried to shoot from the side to show a different angle of the tricks and the kite’s flight characteristics. It’s an angle I enjoy viewing as I can see how the kite responds to inputs. I was on a Slot Machine kick that day so what the heck, I left a bunch in. Not much more to say about the video other than to say I hope you like it. Maybe one day I can either enlist a pilot so I can play videographer (which I love to do) or a videographer so my videos won’t be so chopped up and I can stop worrying about flying in frame.

 

Check out the "Sport Kite Videos" section on the left for the video. I’ve included .avi and .wmv versions for those "codec challenged". I’ve figured out how to compress 16:9 for the iPod so I’ll have that up later.

 

Now, what do I think of the Team Next Up Standard? Well first, see from the video if you think I was having fun. Second, I will say that it’s a different kite from the Nirvana. Maybe not quite as hard edged and by that I mean not quite as razor sharp with precision. The precision is very good with the Next Up but not quite on par with the often imitated, never matched Nirvana. I would say the Next Up requires a pilot with greater skill to extract Nirvana-like precision but it’s definitely there. What the Next Up excels at is smooth flowing tricks because it transitions so well. Maybe it’s that the Next Up is more graceful as it executes tricks or it allows the pilot to be more graceful in his/her execution vs. the Nirvana. Certainly, it loves the deep turtle. In fact, it really requires it for tricks such and Lazy Susans and Jacobs Ladders. Notice the video and you will see me allowing the kite to settle into the turtle. Just a little hesitation and the kite rewards you very well. It’s a characteristic that I love to play with. See the Rolling Susan to Tip Stab beginning at 2:30? That’s what I’m talking about!

 

After spending a few days tuning a friend’s Nirvana and comparing it my several of mine, I got the Next Up back out and was very impressed by the presence it exhibits in the sky and the feel on the end of the lines. It’s a very connected feeling and one that definitely generates some pull. I like to call it being well connected to the kite and receiving very good feedback. I much prefer larger kites and at ~2.4 meters, the Next Up doesn’t disappoint.

 

I’m not the best at describing what I feel (I’m much too left-brained) but maybe it’s that the Next Up really flies “smaller” than its wingspan. Certainly those Slot Machines, Multislots and Slot Cascades are cake. In my hands, it Cometes easier than the Nirvana but I’m tall, have long arms and am quite clumsy. The flare to Fade take a tad more slack which bothered me at first but is only a characteristic and easily adjusted to.

 

Well that’s it. I’ll leave it at that. Again, Mr. and Ms. Tessa Gambassi have a winner as far as I am concerned. They’ve had a habit of designing and producing winners and I’ve been hooked on R-Sky far longer than I’ve been associated with them.

 

I hope you enjoy the video!

 

All the best to you and I wish you smooth winds.

 

Randy  

